Header cover image

Argentinian (MERVAL) Market Analysis & Valuation

UpdatedOct 30, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies69
  • 7D-15.2%
  • 3M33.7%
  • 1Y285.9%
  • YTD177.5%

Over the last 7 days, the market has dropped 15%, driven by declines in every sector, especially the Energy sector. As for the longer term, the market has actually risen by 286% in the last year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 43% annually.

Trending IndustriesOil and Gas

Market Valuation and Performance

Has the Argentinian Market valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 31 Oct 2023AR$26.2tAR$12.5tAR$854.9b20.7x30.6x2.1x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023AR$24.2tAR$12.3tAR$846.6b21.4x28.6x2x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023AR$26.9tAR$11.8tAR$725.1b24.8x37.1x2.3x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023AR$20.2tAR$10.5tAR$550.6b22.1x36.6x1.9x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023AR$17.5tAR$10.4tAR$524.5b20.9x33.4x1.7x
Fri, 19 May 2023AR$14.4tAR$10.3tAR$525.5b17.4x27.4x1.4x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023AR$12.1tAR$9.8tAR$429.3b14.9x28.1x1.2x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023AR$9.8tAR$8.3tAR$1.3t16x7.8x1.2x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023AR$11.1tAR$6.7tAR$424.1b16.7x26.2x1.6x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023AR$9.6tAR$6.8tAR$430.1b15.4x22.4x1.4x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022AR$7.7tAR$6.8tAR$440.5b12.9x17.4x1.1x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022AR$6.9tAR$6.2tAR$655.7b11.2x10.5x1.1x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022AR$6.3tAR$6.2tAR$615.2b10.6x10.2x1x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022AR$6.5tAR$6.0tAR$551.3b13.1x11.8x1.1x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022AR$5.3tAR$5.6tAR$320.4b13.1x16.7x1x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022AR$4.1tAR$5.4tAR$310.4b10.5x13.2x0.8x
Sat, 21 May 2022AR$4.4tAR$5.5tAR$318.4b13.4x13.7x0.8x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022AR$4.5tAR$5.3tAR$256.8b10x17.7x0.9x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022AR$5.2tAR$5.1tAR$760.7b15.2x6.9x1x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022AR$5.4tAR$4.1tAR$86.2b16.9x63.1x1.3x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022AR$4.1tAR$4.1tAR$88.3b12.9x46.6x1x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021AR$5.2tAR$4.2tAR$100.5b16.4x51.6x1.2x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021AR$4.3tAR$3.7tAR$43.4b14.6x98.9x1.1x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021AR$3.7tAR$3.9tAR$79.8b15x46.9x1x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021AR$3.7tAR$3.8tAR$116.5b11x31.5x1x
Tue, 06 Jul 2021AR$3.1tAR$3.8tAR$116.5b9x26.5x0.8x
Fri, 09 Apr 2021AR$2.4tAR$3.5tAR$97.4b6.1x25x0.7x
Thu, 31 Dec 2020AR$2.7tAR$3.6tAR$189.5b7.9x14x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13.2x


Total Market Cap: AR$2.5tTotal Earnings: AR$187.0bTotal Revenue: AR$4.0tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Argentinian Market Price to Earnings3Y Average 27.5x202120222023
Current Market PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Argentinean market, and appear confident in strong long term growth rates.
  • The market is trading at a PE ratio of 33.8x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 27.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for Argentinean listed companies have grown 66% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 46% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Sector Trends

Which sectors have driven the changes within the Argentinian Market?

AR Market-15.17%
Tech-0.92%
Healthcare-2.24%
Materials-8.66%
Consumer Staples-10.47%
Consumer Discretionary-11.26%
Industrials-13.24%
Real Estate-14.10%
Financials-16.34%
Utilities-16.51%
Telecom-19.43%
Energy-19.84%
Sector PE
  • Investors favour the Industrials sector the most for future growth, which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 27.0x.
    • It looks like investors are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Telecom sector, expecting annual earnings growth of 68% over the next 5 years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuationSector
ROSE Instituto RosenbuschAR$48.004.3%
+AR$85.2m
336.4%PS1.6xHealthcare
POLL Polledo Sociedad Anonima Industrial Constructora y FinancieraAR$85.0010.4%
+AR$51.4m
112.5%PE6.6xIndustrials
DOME DOMEC Compa√Ī√≠a de Artefactos Dom√©sticosI.C.y FAR$32.000.6%
+AR$20.0m
100.0%PS1.3xConsumer Discretionary
See more
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Market Insights

This week we’re checking in on China’s economy after some better than expected data and another round of stimulus...

Latest News

TGSU2

AR$1,780.65

Transportadora de Gas del Sur

7D

-21.6%

1Y

231.7%

CAPXD

AR$4,463.00

Capex

7D

-17.1%

1Y

642.6%

PAMP

AR$1,273.55

Pampa Energía

7D

-17.0%

1Y

307.9%

TXAR

AR$755.50

Ternium Argentina

7D

-12.8%

1Y

325.0%

YPFD

AR$8,880.60

YPF Sociedad Anónima

7D

-21.2%

1Y

276.1%

GGAL

AR$951.20

Grupo Financiero Galicia

7D

-15.8%

1Y

298.2%

BMA

AR$1,491.05

Banco Macro

7D

-17.3%

1Y

224.5%

ROSE

AR$48.00

Instituto Rosenbusch

7D

4.3%

1Y

336.4%

TECO2

AR$914.55

Telecom Argentina

7D

-20.0%

1Y

253.3%